Being Smart….n’ stuff..


I’ve been a college student since August of 2007. I decided I needed to get my degree, no matter how long it took me going part time..Really. So I’ve worked through the semesters and the summer and have been spending a lot of time neglecting my four year old for hours of homework. My husband’s been very accomodating and understand of the many nights when I can’t cook dinner and I’m suggesting take-out.

It’s a shocking balance, or imbalance, when a person is trying to juggle domestic life, husband, full time job with a new promotion, kids, pregnancy, and college..

For example, I’ll give you a scenario…

I’m sitting in the lazy boy last night with my lap top on my lap and I’ve got very little to do, but I want to make it count and get an extra good grade on what I do have to turn in. (I’m going for the Board of Trustees Scholarship – which is 3.0GPA and above for 12 credit hours.) My daughter is running crazily around the room pushing a little double stroller and yelling “Stop that, stay in the stroller! Don’t touch the Big Mouse! Leave him alone!”   I swear she didn’t hear any of that from me… At the time I still had more reading to do – and I’m laying on the couch reading a passage and she is standing right next to my face yelling

“CHUPACABRA! CHUPACABRA! CHUPACABRA! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA MOMMY!!! CHUPACABRA!!!”

Yeah, I’m not kidding. It was diabolical insane!

That being said, I know it’s something I have to do, regardless of how long it takes me to get through this, I need to. I need to show my children the importance of some kind of higher education beyond high school. Even if this degree doesn’t put me in much more of a significant income category, it is setting a good a example for my children that a little hard work will earn you some much deserved respect and makes you at least look smart.

I was reading a thread the other day where a mom was asking if not having her high school diploma or her G.E.D made her stupid.. In my opinion it doesn’t make her stupid I.Q. wise on an educational level – per se – but I think it makes a person common sense stupid. In our day and age it is a necessity to have a G.E.D or a High School Diploma, I mean hell, you can’t even get into the military without it, and they are desperate…It’s even nearly impossible to get a factory job without a High School Diploma/G.E.D.. Construction workers in Missouri are now required to have one too.. Do you see what I’m getting at? It’s about setting a good, healthy example for my children to follow. Do I want my daughter to grow up and be unable to survive on her own without man? Absolutely not. Do I want my son to grow up and be unable to provide for his family and lead to years of incessant struggle? Absolutely not.  Very few people in my family have graduated from college. Well, really only two in my immediate family. A few more in my extended family – but most of them are the ones who married into the family, not the ones already existing in my gene pool.

So this is what I’m going to do. Even if it kills me. My kids will thank me for it.

One thought on “Being Smart….n’ stuff..

  1. That’s awesome. I’m a fulltime student too. I actually registered for fulltime classes this fall semester, even though I’m due right around when classes start– glutton for punishment? Maybe. I think I’ll enjoy the break from the baby. I don’t know how you do it! I work part time right now. No priors (children). At least I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

