Stop Putting Things in Front of the Baby!


Baby-High-Chair-Walnut As you all know, we’ve been unpacking as much as we possibly can after long work days and getting two kids from childcare and getting everyone fed, doing grocery shopping, cleaning, etc… we’re tired.

We decided to hit up Denny’s last night for dinner. I chose the wheat pancakes and egg whites.

A ‘helper’ to the server was bringing our food and set down a little carafe of warm syrup, right in front of my 14 month old.

In goes the hand, right into the syrup.

I move it, she apologizes.

Then she sets the second carafe of syrup down right in front of him.

In goes his hand, right into the syrup. I move it, she apologizes again. As I am wiping off Flynn’s hand she sets down my plate of pancakes – in front of Flynn! He sticks his hand into the melting butter that is on top of my pancakes.

She thinks she gets the hint and moves a glass in the middle of the table to set my husbands food down, but guess where she moved the glass of ice water, too? Right in front of the baby! Mr. Grabby Hands goes for it!

I move it. She moves the community table-dwelling ketchup bottle over to set my daughters food down – right in front of Flynn! He goes for it again and is trying to put it into his mouth! (Can you say swine flu? ew.)

Listen, Girl, I understand that there is not much room left on the table for things to fit comfortably in front of their respective owners, but please for the love of Jeebus, stop setting things down in front of the baby!

Oh, and also, please don’t give my 14 month old a crayon set, he promptly reached over while I was wiping my shirt off after dripping some butter on it, (little sneaky bugger), and bit the tip of the orange crayon off. Nice.

Leave a Reply

