Intolerant Parent


Is there anyone else who feels like this??

I get up in the morning, struggle to get everyone out the door, on the bus, hubby up, get myself dressed and ready to walk out the door…desperately. Then I’m at work for 9 hours, sure I don’t see my kids during that time because they are at school and the sitters and then when I come home, I’m so mentally drained that I just want to curl up with my laptop and watch tv. I don’t have energy to play with my kids. I mean, I have the physical energy, just not the drive. I feel like I just want to be alone for several hours…then I feel like shit for not spending more time with my kids in the evenings and such. I just don’t have the desire to play with my kids. I’m not tolerant of the constant chatter, the climbing on stuff, the constant questions.. I feel terrible.

I LOVE my kids, don’t get me wrong. I’d jump in front of a train for them, bullets, trade myself to an intruder for their safety. You name it. But I feel stretched so thin, with just work alone, not including any after work activities or errands that need to be run.

I can’t be the only one.

2 thoughts on “Intolerant Parent

  1. Oh sweetie, you are not the only one. I am in the same boat. I find myself getting frustrated with my kiddos and they only want a minute of my attention. It’s so hard……

  2. Crazy idea? Take more time for yourself, not less. Let me rephrase: Take better time for yourself. Watching tv & laptop time are not relaxing…. maybe mindless, but you are not relaxing. You will still feel exhausted after doing it. But, if you came home & locked yourself in a quiet room for 20 minutes and for 15 minutes FOCUSED only on meditating, you would be energized to spend some time with the kiddos. I suspect so, anyway.

    Worth a try, at the very least. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

