Valentine’s Throwback


My husband sent a Valentine through the University we work for. They apparently do these programs every year, but I thought they were for students and not staff/faculty. 

It was a sweet little card with a Hershey’s Hug…

This is our 10th Valentine’s Day together. 

I remember our first Valentine’s Day like it was yesterday…

We were sitting in my Mom’s kitchen, while we were still supposed to not be dating, according to my Mom. We were allowed to be in my living room and kitchen, nowhere else, while my very over-protective Mother surveyed this situation. He was 19 and I was 15 at the time and this freaked my Mother out – however, the boys she REALLY needed to be worried about were the ones closer to my age that she LET me date… Anyway… We had only been dating for one month, roughly, at that time and he presented me with a card and a gold heart shaped necklace with a diamond in the center. I told him I loved him for the first time (WE WERE TEENAGERS!) and he didn’t respond….

He didn’t say ‘I love you’ back, probably because he wasn’t stupid… or gullible to think that as teenagers you know what love is after just one month… It wasn’t until about a month later than that did he actually say it to me. I spent the next two weeks wondering what was wrong with me that he didn’t love me yet, like a teenage girl would — but what else do teenage girls have to worry about? School? Certainly not. 

 

We are going to have a nice dinner and hopefully some time to ourselves tonight…

Happy Valentine’s Day! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

