Getting by.


So far, so good. 

I am adjusting to living alone, both with the kids here, and on weeks when the kids are not here. 

It is a new experience for me. I am still working myself up to be prepared to call my Father, since he seems to want to be supportive… but that also means I am going to be forced to talk about it when I have been doing so well not having to talk to about it.

Tonight the kids and I made a quick run to Wal Mart for a couple art supplies for some projects I am working on and I was listening to Lady Antebellum and there was a song about missing someone as most ballad-like Country songs are and my daughter, who is 8, asked me if I was listening to that song because I missed her Dad. I explained to her that sometimes people can be apart and miss each other but not for the right reasons. Explaining this to my kids has been the most heartbreaking part. 

They will adjust. I believe they will see both of us happier and having a better relationship apart than we ever did together. There is still a lot of pain in this decision for everyone, but ultimately I know that this is the right thing for all of us – even if everyone is pretty torn up right now and blaming me and telling me I am selfish, etc. You name it. 

We will get buy, I’ll make it, we all will. 

Leave a Reply

