Symbolic


“Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul
And sings the tune without the words
And never stops at all.”
― Emily Dickinson

I really think I am starting to believe in symbolism. I won’t give my example out loud – because that is to be only shared with The Hunk at a later date… but I think there are signs – perhaps because we want to see them… but I think that there are indeed indicators, of sorts, that we call “signs”.  It is symbolic to me that our old townhouse was available when I ended my marriage and moved out… it was symbolic because it made me feel more comfortable with the leap. The lack of familiarity is a massive fear for me. Feeling like I am wandering around in foreign places or feeling ‘lost’ is dangerous for my mental health. So, my old townhouse being available was symbolic to me. It represented that this was the right decision and that this was what was going to help me be comfortable with that step- even if it appeared to be a step backwards. I don’t see it as a step backwards, because honestly, I am happier now than I have ever been to-date.

As for the symbolism regarding The Hunk – I’ll just say this, my paternal Grandmother whom I was estranged from when she died, which has haunted me to this very day, was born on July 4th. Her ashes were shot off in bottle rockets over the Mississippi River, and that knowledge helped me ‘cope’ a bit with her passing because I know she would have LOVED that… I know that is exactly how she wanted things to go.  There are a lot of things in my life, that are very emotion heavy, that now surround July 4th. I wonder… if that is symbolic of something – perhaps a message she is trying to send me? She stopped coming in my dreams a long time ago – which is kind of sad – but then all of these interesting little connections that were ALL positive things started being connected to July the 4th.

I can only hope that that these are symbolic of something to me since all of them so far have been positive connections.

 

Something sweet: Sunday when I was leaving The Hunk’s house and heading home I had left my jacket hanging up in his house, it needed to dry, and I got out to my car in the pouring rain – it was cold too, I sat there and messed around with getting my music going, the windows thawed etcetera… a few minutes later he flings open the driver’s side door, throws my jacket into my car, he is barefoot and he leans in to kiss me and then closes my door and runs inside! What a sweetheart… ❤

Leave a Reply

