Alyssa’s Test Kitchen


Ok, first we started out with about three glasses of merlot. Alright, well, I mean not as part of the recipe but you know to bring my stress level down. Cooking is an arch nemesis of mine. When I was married, I was not the cook in the household.

I found the following recipe on Pinterest…

You’re Gonna Bake it After All’s Bourbon Chicken

IMG_1690

So I started with the chicken, the sauce from scratch, and I made some minute rice on the side to serve it over.

IMG_1688

Woo! The house smelled amazing! —– I was really worried that the sauce was not going to thicken up like it was supposed to.

IMG_1689And once it was complete – it was delicious! I think next time I will try a breaded chicken – but I wanted to try a healthier option this go around since I am trying to be good! It was actually very good even when I had to improvise with dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar and I didn’t have any ginger.

This made two full, heaping, meals for me – one is in a container to go to work with me tomorrow. 🙂 I am pretty proud of myself since I am generally not much of  cook at all.

So… that only used 1.5lbs of chicken……….. I have 3.5lbs left to cook tonight before it goes bad.  Back to Pinterest. Cheers!

One thought on “Alyssa’s Test Kitchen

  1. Once all fruit is peeled and sliced drain it from the lemon water and add it to a large stock pot and heat on the stove over medium heat. Cover the stock pot, but check frequently to make sure that the fruit is not scorching on the bottom. Water will soon start cooking out of the fruit and this will protect against scorching after the first few minutes. Keep the pot covered so that the fruit simmers and steams. Check every couple minutes and stir the fruit. Depending on the firmness of the apple variety you selected, the apples should become noticeably softened in about 20 or 30 minutes. Once apples are softened and beginning to break apart when stirred, start mashing them with a potato masher. This speeds the saucing process. You can make the apples as smooth or as chunky as you want. Keep the applesauce cooking after you mash to cook out more liquid. You don’t want the applesauce runny. Cook out the water until a thick sauce forms. During this time, you may add sugar and spice if you want.

Leave a Reply

