A Girl and Her Crockpot


I have never been much of a cook. I have mentioned a multitude of times in this very blog that my ex husband was indeed the cook of the household. I have been forced to learn. Thus far, over a year and a half post-divorce, I have only managed to master soups, chili, and pretty much anything you can put in the crock pot.

You know why? Because I can sit my unhappy-reluctant-cook-ass across the room with a glass of Cabernet while it does all of the work.

ImageSee? Unhappy-reluctant-cook-ass making a grouchy face in general area of kitchen!

Anyway, last year my ex got a recipe from a co-worker for a soupier white chicken chili that was WONDERFUL! I loved it and I had looked forward to making it again at some point. This year, when we gave “us” a second chance we went to the store and made it verbatim to the recipe. Delicious. No doubt! (If there was one good thing that came of this disaster of a relationship, it was this!) However, I knew I could do better in the crockpot! (And in life…without him.) See what I did there?!

Anyway! Onto the good stuff!

Zesty White Chicken Chili

Ingredients:
1 can diced tomatoes (I get the onion & garlic flavored ones).
1 can Hominy. (Garbanzo was recommended but the Garbanzo beans don’t stand up well to the prolonged heat and get too firm. If you don’t do this in the crock and do this on the stove instead, Garbanzos may work – but not the crockpot)

1 Container Old Bay seasoning

2 lbs Chicken Thigh Tenderloins with Fat Trimmed.

2 15oz cans Great Northern beans
20 ounces of chicken broth (I use the low sodium)
2 cans original or hot Rotel (Lime & Cilantro Flavor*)
1 packet taco seasoning
1 packet ranch dressing seasoning (I used Hidden Valley Spicy Ranch)
1 pint sour cream (use a little more if you like it a little bit creamier)
1 lb Finely shredded Mexican-style cheese (The shred-type of the cheese makes all the difference in whether or not you eat shortly thereafter or an hour or more after. Fine shred melts and mixes in easier).

1.Β  Combine chicken broth,Β  diced tomatoes, both cans of Rotel, Great Northern Beans & Hominy drained and rinsed, taco seasoning, ranch seasoning and the sour cream in the crockpot on low for roughly an hour.
2.Β  Boil the chicken thigh meat in a pot on the stove – add Old Bay seasoning to the boiling water.

3. Add the chicken to the crockpot and cook over low heat uncovered for another hour.
4. Finally, stir in the Mexican cheese, stir generously as the cheese will clump if you don’t.
5. Cover and let sit for about 15 minutes. Stir again and serve!

20140115-095643.jpg

Yum! It made tons to freeze!

20140115-100253.jpg

One thought on “A Girl and Her Crockpot

Leave a Reply

