‘Tis the Season of Engagements…


…and we are no different!

12/30/14 – I said pretty much every word but ‘Yes’ when he got down on one knee in front of the fireplace, as the snow came down, on our Gatlinburg Chalet in the mountains. I said, “Definitely!”. “Absolutely!”… because ‘Yes’… just did not seem to do the moment justice. 10 months, and 23 days, from the day that we met.

A lot of people knew that we were already planning a wedding, from pretty much…the Summer… However, we concreted it in September when we started putting down deposits on venues and photographers and a photobooth and a DJ… You name it. We were on top of it, ahead of time. However, Drew wanted to do my proposal justice and give me a proposal due to the fact that I had never been ‘actually’ proposed to… even though I was previously married.

I will keep this relatively short and sweet… 🙂

Haven't had anything on that hand for quite some time... Going to take some getting used to.
Haven’t had anything on that hand for quite some time… Going to take some getting used to.
The place where he proposed. :)
The place where he proposed. 🙂
Our first day out as an "officially" engaged couple. He's so tall... I look like a midget in contrast....
Bundled up on NYE. Our first day out as an “officially” engaged couple. He’s so tall… I look like a midget in contrast…Gatlinburg in the background. 
Happy New Year! The last few minutes of the last year that we won't be married!
Happy New Year! The last few minutes of the last year that we won’t be married!
Last night of our vacation and the bartender insisted that she take a photo for us. :)
Last night of our vacation and the bartender in Nashville insisted that she take a photo for us. 🙂

Without boring you with too much mush…

He is my best friend, loves me without conditions, makes me feel beautiful when I feel down about myself, commits to us, a great co-parent that loves the children that I brought into this union, de-escalates my anxious tendencies, makes me laugh even when the entire world seems to be falling apart and I start to snowball, smooths over the pains from my past with great ease, knows that I am fallible and accepts when I say that I am sorry, does not hold grudges, is generous, rocks a fantastic beard, shares my love of College Basketball, shares my love of dogs, encourages me to be my best self (for me, never for him), has a strong family, gives freely his time and resources and energy to contribute to my happiness, sees the same future that I see, shares in my successes and achievements, and isn’t afraid to tell the world that I am the woman he chose and loves. For some strange reason, I do not believe that it was by accident that we found each other…

Cannot wait to be his wife. 10-4-15.

Leave a Reply

