Let’s talk fashion… Yeah, I’m going there. Shocker? Stitch Fix!


I will admit, I am still skeptical about the ultimate outcome of Stitch Fix for me — but as a working mother of two who often spends money on clothing that will just “get me by”, or wears fabulous thrift finds, I found myself sacrificing when it came to stuff that I needed to diversify my work wardrobe. I have found myself going to work in the same ol’ same ol’ suit jacket, or leggings and a sweater and boots, or what have you… my taste is pretty simple, but not frumpy – if that makes sense… However, I was starting to slip beyond what I would normally find is acceptable at work for the sake of comfort and ease knowing that I had paired these items together before it was “fine”…dress that up with a big gold bracelet (I love bracelets.) – grab my coffee – and I’m off. Here is how StitchFix works:

1. Fill out your Style Profile

Begin by filling out the Style Profile. This helps us understand your size, style, shape, budget and lifestyle. Completing your profile should only take about 10 minutes.

2. Pick the date you’d like to receive your shipment

We’ll send you a selection of five clothing items and accessories handpicked by personal stylists on the date you choose. At the time your stylist selects your items, you will be charged a $20 styling fee. That $20 will be applied as a credit toward anything you keep from your shipment.

3. Try everything on in the comfort of your home

We encourage you to try on everything our personal stylists have picked for you because you just never know what will look great on! Create new outfits by pairing what’s in your shipment with the items that are already in your closet.

4. Buy what you like and return the rest

  • Take three days to decide what you’ll purchase and what you’d like to send back. You’re only charged for these items when you tell us what you’re keeping and returning.
  • Check out by logging in to your account to pay for those items you want to keep. The $20 styling fee will be applied as credit towards any items you purchase. If you buy all five items, we’ll give you 25% off the entire purchase!
  • Simply return the items you don’t want in our pre-paid mailing bag and drop it at any USPS mailbox. Stitch Fix clients enjoy free shipping both ways as a benefit of using our service!

5. Tell us what you think!

I heard about Stitch Fix a month or two ago, and at the time was not interested in trying it because I believed I could do better with my thrift finds…I believed that I could do better with ThredUp, which does serve me quite well… I received my first fix… and was well… underwhelmed – everything fit my body exactly right, which is hard to do with my shape. So, I only kept one item… The Honey Punch Layla Cardigan with Gold Sequined Elbow Detail (Black/Grey Stripes) ($38). I knew that I had the credit of $20 towards the purchase of whatever arrived in the box, so it helped me to decide to keep the one item. My husband listened to me go on and on about how I didn’t think I should spend more than thrift prices for clothing because I don’t like to spend money on myself for frivolous, or what I believe, are shallow pointless things. He convinced me that it was important that I have nice clothing to A. Feel confident and B. Feel respected and well-dressed in the workplace, and ultimately if I got to a point where I was buying all 5 items in the box and receiving the Buy 5 get 25% off the box then it would ultimately be worth it divided by the number of pieces in the box. (He’s a great listener. He’s right, the deal seems to be in if you keep all five items and get 25% off the entire box.) He loved a pair of striped RD Style Klarissa pants ($74) but even though I adored how they fit — I could not find a SINGLE thing in the close that went with them shoe wise, which meant it was going to be in impractical purchase due to the potential costs of finding a shoe that would go with cuffed pin striped pants. My stylist, on her first attempt knowing almost nothing about me, managed to gather that I love Dolman sleeves on just about anything (but it was Hunter Green – Yuck!), but did not know that I hated, and refuse to wear, anything with cap sleeves. I was so discouraged, because I didn’t know any better, but my Facebook pals told me that I needed to really figure out how to establish a good fashion relationship with my personal Stylist because their fixes dramatically improved over time with lots of honest feedback. Time? I don’t want to waste too much time scheduling, waiting, trying on, and ultimately sending back, and leaving feedback to get there! So, I headed to the WWW.

I needed to find a way to make my StitchFix better… So, I Googled (while simultaneously Pinteresting) —  I happened upon a blogger, Maria at CrazyTogether, and became absolutely ADDICTED to her reviews of her StitchFix items (along with TONS of other bloggers who show off their fixes and how to get better fixes from their stylist). Maria wrote this fantastic blog about how to get better fixes, she really knows her stuff! She recommended that I create a Pinterest board solely for my stylist to look at each time I schedule a fix to A. See if I am pinning items that StitchFix can send to me that I might have seen on other StitchFixer’s fix reviews… (i.e. I immediately Pinned the Potter Button Back Sweater by En Creme… MUST HAVE – requested my stylist send that one to me in my next fix on my note!) and B. Post photos of myself to my own Pinterest board so my stylist can SEE me in the clothing and what I do and don’t like. I got up early the next morning, filled my coffee (to the brim since I am a certified insomnia sufferer), tossed my hair into a messy bun, put my glasses on, in my husband’s robe (What?! Mine is in the washing machine due to excessive popcorn seasoning…), and got to work. I pinned and pinned and pinned! I described exactly what I loved/didn’t love about some items and perhaps, pinned some items for the CUT or TYPE of piece and then identified if I HATED the pattern or color so as to not confuse her. This is a real live person who is personally styling you! I beefed the board up to about 100 pins, many that included some of Maria’s photos – she puts a LOT of time into photographing, which I hope to do as soon as I actually purchase a full-length mirror – No joke. I don’t own one and never really have as someone who has lost 100lbs and went from a size 18/20 to a size 4 – its time to purchase one. I felt content with what I had done, I sent my return bag back with the four remaining items and then headed back to the computer to schedule another fix.

I will admit, that I have not been much into “fashion” – I keep it classy conservative for work because I am the supervisor, but even that has been slipping, as of late. I had a couple solid moments of clarity about how I feel as a well-dressed person the very next day, given that I am not a fashion, or trend, crazed female.

  1. My mother used to work for a trade school for women who were poor, homeless, escaped abuse, etc… they were phenomenal, it was called The Vanderschmidt School located here in St. Louis. I used to go in to work with her sometimes, and this job could not possibly have been more perfect for my mother given that she was a single struggling mother trying to survive with me in tow. Anywho, I went in with her and admired the rows of women on the many computers (I was, maybe 9 or 10 so that many computers in one place was a big deal, whereas my mother had scrimped and saved so that we could have one – I credit her for my tech savvy nature and my phenomenal 106 WPM typing skills…) and they were all taking typing tests and listening to an instructor. Another part of the room there was a woman sitting down with three women doing interview prep, talking to them about bringing in clothing so they could see what they intended to wear to an interview and give them professional advice. The woman said to the three young women, who could not be older than 23, 24 and had been talking, each of them, about having multiple small children to provide for so “they needed this job.”, “There is no such thing as over-dressing, wear a skirt-suit, and act like it is completely commonplace for you to look that good and that professional. Don’t shift around like you don’t belong in the suit, act like its the thing you feel most comfortable and confident in.” I don’t know why I remember that… could be because immediately thereafter she told the three women that if there was a bowl of water with lemons in it on an entry table it is NOT for drinking – its for dipping your hands in and drying. I took a lot away from that moment, everyone sees the outside of your body and first impressions are a lot about that outer shell, not only if you feel confident you will be more comfortable being yourself, but you will portray that to another person who is sizing you up.
  2. I purchased the Honey Punch Layla cardigan and decided to wear it to work the next day. I wore my Willow and Clay black textured leggings that have kind of a pleather sheen to the front, but that are not shiny, with my black Style&Co layered knee-high boots, and my patty long sleeve lace tunic top, both from Thredup, put on the shimmer layered necklace that my husband bought from Nordstrom for Christmas (Can’t recall the brand) and headed in to work. I tend to toddle into my fluorescent-lit space with dark sunglasses on, struggling to find the keys to my office and balancing coffee. I schlepped into my office and tossed all of my stuff onto my desk and turned on my heel to walk back out of my office to go check my mailbox. My boss, who is always very fashionable, and pulls off one of my favorite go-to’s quite well (Black on black on black!) said. “Hey, you look really nice today.” Not that it is uncommon to receive compliments from her, but they are generally about my work, or regarding my help on something. It made me feel really good that somebody else who is a pretty savvy dresser who does not succumb to the basic “Female Office Wear” (“matronly”, “frumpy”, or the other end of the spectrum “unapproachable”) and stays fashionable — complimented ME! Even though I was incredibly sleepy and a little overwhelmed — I felt really good the remainder of that afternoon, felt more productive, felt more respected, felt more noticed.

Today, yes, today, StitchFix launched an app – and now you can schedule fixes, return items, or checkout with the items you want to keep, show your stylist selfies of you in the clothing or in something you need help pairing an item with. #Downloaded

So, for lack of a better photo — Here is the Layla Cardigan by Honey Punch ($38). Would look fabulous with a skinny belt in the mid-section and a, for a more winter look, big chunky infinity scarf!
 Going forward, I will take better photos so you can see the evolution of, what I am hoping is, a Stylist match made in heaven for us, StitchFix!

If you decide that you would like to try StitchFix, please use one of the many links in this blog post and I will receive a referral credit. I do not in any way, work for, or represent StitchFix. But, for a busy mom and wife, this seems like a no-brainer to continue trying to get a good wardrobe from, especially for those who are low on time. I will always be super honest on the costs of the items, the quality, and how it measures up to other things I own, or even brands I’ve thrifted.

The next fix is scheduled for November 7th! Stayed tuned! (I will set up a StitchFix category link at the top of the page so you can go directly to the itemized reviews, quickly for reference.)

-Alyssa

Leave a Reply

