Stitch Fix – #7 – The One Where I Got Way Too Personal with My Stylist…


I don’t have the exact note anymore — but it went a little something almost exactly like this.

“Dear Nikki, I have been through a lot in the last six months. I’ve put on 4 pounds – I lost my Grandfather that I still haven’t figured out how to mourn yet – I have continued to foster a nasty sleep disorder – I have felt awful about the way my job has been making me feel since its virtually taken down my self-confidence as someone who prides themselves with their ability to be good at her job. I have been, to say the least, downright depressed (enough so that people have noticed), growing reclusive, becoming a workaholic, and not even remotely noticing all of the fabulous things I need to be grateful for. I know better. I am finally starting a new job and a new adventure with a company known for how it treats its employees. Send me anything you think would be really exciting to me and get me excited about working again! – Love, A”

 

“Nikki S” has been my personal stylist for all but one of my fixes. I wrote this note and felt EXTREMELY silly that I was telling a complete stranger that I needed a little pick me up, and, in addition to my kiddos (when they are being funny and aren’t adding to the stress) and my sweet-sweet husband who acknowledges and lifts me up every day, Stitch Fix has grown to be one of the little rays of sunshine that lifts me up once a month. I look forward to getting the box and trying everything on and taking pictures, etc. I have expanded my work and play wardrobe with so many versatile pieces in the last 6 months – and not broken the bank. I got on board with that… So…. anyway — telling a stranger who has gotten to know me through my notes and my Pinterest board seemed a little odd to me… but when she responded – I definitely made the right decision about sharing.

“Alyssa, if this note could give a giant hug, it would! Thank you so much for letting me know whats been going on with you. I am so sorry to hear about your grandfather as well as the struggles you’ve had with work and your self-confidence. I am proud of you for getting out of that situation and making a fresh start. That takes great courage! As for your confidence, I know you are beautiful on the outside, but I can also tell your beauty is just as great on the inside. I hope the job and this fun new Fix will help lift your spirits. These pieces will be great for the new job! It’s a lot of black, but I did find your Fate leopard cardigan to pair with the Skies are Blues dress, and I added a fab clutch to help you add that pop of red you love. 🙂 Please keep your head high and know I’m rooting for you! HUGS! xo, Nikki.”

How cool is that I can start utilizing a stylist service to get some clothes that make me feel good about myself — and I find that the person on the other end is also a human that is totally willing to help be a part of someone’s pick-me-up, though virtual strangers!

Recap!

StitchFix is an online styling service where you have a personal stylist who sends you five items per “fix”, and you try them on, pair them with some of your favorites at home, and then send back what you don’t want! I am not employed by Stitch Fix, but I do receive a $25 referral bonus for anyone who signs up using my link.

1. Fill out your Style Profile

Begin by filling out the Style Profile. This helps us understand your size, style, shape, budget and lifestyle. Completing your profile should only take about 10 minutes.

2. Pick the date you’d like to receive your shipment

We’ll send you a selection of five clothing items and accessories handpicked by personal stylists on the date you choose. At the time your stylist selects your items, you will be charged a $20 styling fee. That $20 will be applied as a credit toward anything you keep from your shipment.

3. Try everything on in the comfort of your home

We encourage you to try on everything our personal stylists have picked for you because you just never know what will look great on! Create new outfits by pairing what’s in your shipment with the items that are already in your closet.

4. Buy what you like and return the rest

  • Take three days to decide what you’ll purchase and what you’d like to send back. You’re only charged for these items when you tell us what you’re keeping and returning.
  • Check out by logging in to your account to pay for those items you want to keep. The $20 styling fee will be applied as credit towards any items you purchase. If you buy all five items, we’ll give you 25% off the entire purchase!
  • Simply return the items you don’t want in our pre-paid mailing bag and drop it at any USPS mailbox. Stitch Fix clients enjoy free shipping both ways as a benefit of using our service!

5. Tell us what you think!

Without further ado… Fix #7. My favorite fix yet!

(1) FATE Davis Leopard Print Cardigan (Small): $58.00

I have been lusting after this leopard print cardigan to wear with black, and boots, and to pop with red accents — Yeah, I thought about this a lot — and it is finally here. It has nice long length on the arms and looks wonderful pair with most brown boots, even the lighter colors. These boots are Bandolino. The pants are another fabulous Stitch Fix item – Liverpool Rizzo Pant! New job is with a PetCare company, so perhaps this was a fitting, but funny, coincidence. (Keep!)

(2) Street Level – Abri Suede Envelope Clutch $48

Normally, I carry a Kate Spade shoulder bag – but occasionally I like to mix it up with a pop of color when I dress nice and don’t want to carry the big bag. I peeked on my fix in the app when it was en route and there was no photo of this clutch. I went to the boards with the question after a failed Google search and none of the ladies had seen this bag before! We discovered that I had a brand new item! The front is a buttery soft suede and the other parts are all genuine leather. This pops with black, but this also looks FABULOUS with the leopard print cardigan!! (Keep!)

(3) Skies are Blue Sedona Dress (small) $58.00

The Sedona dress is a gorgeous black suede and is stretchy enough that I could have gone down to an extra small (might still) and it would fit perfectly. The dress is soft and flattering on the figure and looks wonderful with gold accent jewelry. I paired this fabulous dress with two Rocksbox items from my current set!

My stylist, Emily, from Rocksbox sent me these amazing Loren Hope earrings ($88) – where the spiky part hangs down in the back, has little diamonds on the front and the gold stud in center. I love these. LOVE them. She also sent me a subtle ring by Wanderlust + Co (one of my favorite jewelry lines). Very classy, but still very edgy!

(4) Renee C Leena Printed Skirt (Small) – $58

I will admit that I really NEVER wear skirts, and I very very rarely wear any patterns at all. Nikki took a huge leap of faith here with patterns. I love this skirt, it’s comfortable – slips right on, and is long enough for me to feel comfortable wearing it to work. I paired this top  with the Daniel Rainn Shanon Mesh Top from my last fix #6. I also included some new Rocksbox pieces in gold!

The Gorjana Taner V necklace came in my last Rocksbox and I loved the simplicity of it! Due to the shape of the Taner V necklace being an open “V” I decided to pair the outfit with the Chevron stacking rings from Wanderlust + Co.

 

(5) FATE Gradon Sheer Raglan Seam Sweater – (small) – $64

My stylist warned me that there was a fair little bit of black in this fix, but I think she knows I love black! I pair it with pops of statement jewelry or red bags or hot colored heels! Nikki also knows that I like edgy pieces that aren’t ‘basic’… This shirt is sheer mesh on the arms and parts of the back of the shoulders. I wear a plain black cami from Old Navy underneath since it is sheer. Looks awesome pair with the new Bandolino boots. Definitely one of my new favorite sweaters! Keep!

So, here is the breakdown… Since I kept all 5 pieces in my fix – I received the 25% discount!

Merchandise Total: $286.00

Buy 5 Discount: -$71.50

Styling Fee Credit: -$20.00

Total for all 5 pieces: $194.50

 

As you can see, I definitely had  a lot of fun with this fix – it was definitely my favorite yet! I cannot wait to see what is coming at the end of March for my 30th Birthday fix!!!

If you like what you see, give Stitch Fix a try – no obligations and nothing to lose since your $20 styling fee goes directly towards the purchase of anything in your fix, so even if you only buy one item, you get your $20 fee credited to that item! If you are incredibly unhappy with your fix and dissatisfied with the service Customer Service wants to hear from you to make your experience right!

14 thoughts on “Stitch Fix – #7 – The One Where I Got Way Too Personal with My Stylist…

  1. Oh my goodness, I can see why you’ve been wanting that cardigan. That is so cute, I can already see all the styling options for it. Also, love those Loren hope earrings!!!

  2. You look amazing in these pieces!!! Girl you rock that leopard cardigan! I could not pull that off but it looks as if it was made for you! Obsessed with the Sedona dress and clutch! Love love! I hope you are loving your new job. So sorry to hear about your grandpa and hard few months too. You’re amazing! Keep your head up. 🙂 also Thank you for your beautiful authenticity!

  3. I lost my grandpa a year ago this past January. The hardest things I’ve had to endure but I promise time does heal (even though it doesn’t feel like that now I know) but of course you never forgot. Live in his memories in your grieving process. Look at old photos, share stories with your family and friends… These things helped me a lot. Best advice from my husband was telling me that my Papa’s legacy lives on in me and it’s my job to pass on to my children all the wonderful things he taught me about life. Keep his memory alive! Hugs to you!

    On a lighter note, you are rocking your stitch fix outfits. You look beautiful! Good luck to you 🙂

  4. What a beautiful person inside and out. Loss is something that is so hard to comprehend. I just lost my husband…it will be a year March 12th and it still feels like yesterday. I have to tell you to surround yourself with people. Let them in, they will only help and don’t close anyone out. It’s a win win because these wonderful people in your life will feel good about them selves if they can help you and you get to reap the benefits of their love. Put that make up on, do your hair and wear those darling clothes. If you feel good on the outside, you will feel good on the inside. It’s not vain, it’s getting up everyday for a purpose-YOU.

  5. Sorry to hear you’ve had a rough go lately. You’re spirit is obviously strong & you should be VERY proud of yourself for saying something to anyone about how you feel. I lost my Grandad 7 years ago & while it doesn’t get easier, you get used to the new normal of deeply cherishing your memories. You look AMAZING in those pieces & I hope you feel amazing, too!

  6. Alyssa! You are incredible. So brave to share that note with your stylist. She wrote you a lovely note back and I’m so happy she could brighten your day with such a fabulous Fix. I can tell you feel beautiful in every single piece. Plus, I love rocksbox too! Your jewelry works perfectly with your Stitch Fix! Thanks for sharing such a tough experience – it is a brave thing. As you can see, your story is touching many people and many that can relate to what you are going through. You are not alone! Stay strong. Good luck with your new job and rocking your new clothes.

    xo Ashley F.

  7. Wow!! Thank you everyone! So awesome to hear others share being there, too!

    The comments here themselves are a pick me up itself!

    She, my stylist, sent me a little spa kit and a tiny book that’s titled “You are doing freaking awesome!” 😂😂

Leave a Reply

